Modules Summary 

The Libraries’ Information Literacy Modules are based on ALA/ACRL Standards. All modules are customized according to University curriculum and research needs.

 
1. Orientation Tour: for visiting students or groups from outside the University. Introduces the library system, resources and services. (Orientation)

2. Introduction to Library Use: for freshman. Introduces students to using the library for information retrieval, focuses on reference services and resources, the online catalog and the LC classification system. (Orientation) 

3. Finding Books in the University Libraries: for freshman. Introduces students to developing a search strategy, how to search for and access books by doing different types of searches in the online catalog, and how to read and interpret call numbers and retrieve books from the shelves. (Orientation) 

4. General Reference Seminar: for freshman. Introduces students to the general structure of books, focuses on general reference services and basic reference sources such as encyclopedias. (Orientation) 

5. Introduction to Information Retrieval: for intermediate students. Introduces techniques of information retrieval such as search strategy, finding information through use of the online catalog and electronic resources. (Course-Related)

6. lntroduction to Research in Specific Subjects: for intermediate/advanced students. Instructs students in how to find information in a specific subject area using specialized reference sources. Introduces research methods concepts. (Course-Related) 

7. lntroduction to the Library System and Services: for new/returning faculty. Provides an update on the library system, information services and new resources (Orientation) 

8. Information Retrieval of Emirates Materials: for Emirates Society curriculum students. Introduces students to information formats and reference resources relating to the Emirates. (Course-Related) 

9. Internet for Academic Use: for all students. Introduces students to the use of the Internet on various levels for academic research. Instructs students in how to search effectively for relevant, credible information and evaluate results. (Course-Related)

Oct 28, 2014

ملخص عن الخدمة الإرشادية

  1. جولة تعريفية: للطلاب الزائرين أو المجموعات من خارج الجامعة. للتعرف على نظام المكتبة، والمصادر والخدمات.  (توجيه).

  2. تعريف باستخدامات المكتبة: للطلبة المستجدين. يتم تعريف الطلبة باستخدامات المكتبة لغايات استرجاع المعلومات، حيث يتم التركيز على مراجع الخدمات والمصادر، النشرة المصورة على الإنترنت ونظام تصنيف LC.( توجيه).

  3. العثور على الكتب في مكتبات الجامعة: للطلبة المستجدين. تعريف الطلبة بكيفية تطوير إستراتيجية للبحث، والبحث وإيجاد الكتب بطرق بحث مختلفة عبر دليل على الإنترنت، وكيفية قراءة وتفسير أرقام الاتصال واستخراج الكتب من الرفوف.(توجيه).

  4. الحلقة الدراسية العامة للمراجع: للطلبة المستجدين. تعرف الطلبة ببنية الكتب بشكل عام، حيث يتم التركيز على خدمات المراجع العامة والمصادر كالموسوعات. (توجيه).

  5. مقدمة في استخراج المعلومات: طلبة المرحلة المتوسطة. التعريف بتقنيات استخراج المعلومات مثل آلية البحث، إيجاد المعلومات عبر دليل على الإنترنت والمصادر الإلكترونية. (دورة ذات صلة بالمساق).

  6. مقدمة في البحث في حقول محددة: لطلبة المرحلة المتوسطة/المرحلة المتقدمة. إرشاد الطلبة حول كيفية إيجاد المعلومات في حقول معينة باستخدام مصادر مرجعية متخصصة. وتقدم مفاهيم أساليب البحث. (دورات ذات صلة بالمساق).

  7. مقدمة في نظام وخدمات المكتبة: لأعضاء الهيئة التدريسية المستجدين/ العائدين . تزويدهم بالتحديثات التي تطرأ على نظام المكتبة، وخدمات المعلومات والمصادر الجديدة. (توجيه).

  8. استخراج معلومات المواد الإماراتية: للطلبة الخاضعين للمنهاج الإماراتي. تعريف الطلبة بصيغ المعلومات ومرجعية المصادر المتعلقة بدولة الإمارات. (دورات ذات صلة بالمساق).

  9. الإنترنت للاستخدام الأكاديمي: لجميع الطلبة. تعريف الطلبة باستخدام الإنترنت وعلى كافة الأصعدة للبحث الأكاديمي.      إرشاد الطلبة حول آلية البحث الفعال عن المعلومات ذات الصلة والموثوقة وتقييم النتائج. (دورة ذات صلة بالمساق).

 

Nov 2, 2014